Product Review: Beyond Meat’s Beast Burger

I’m not going to lie. Some of the vegan meat products currently out on the market can be downright heinous in terms of taste or texture.

Let’s be honest here: no one fancies a vegan “burger” that looks and tastes like a piece of grilled condensed carboard. No. We want flavor, we want “meatiness”, and we appreciate a burger that actually looks like a burger sometimes. (Do you really want to be that vegan that brings a speckled, mossy green burger to the neighborhood cookout? DO YOU?)

beastbox.png

I’ve already been let down plenty of times with these fake-beef imposters lurking in supermarket freezers. But, in a spur of the moment decision, I decided to go with this 2-pack from Beyond Meat. Apart from being vegan, they’re also soy, gluten, and GMO free with a whopping 23 grams of protein. 

IMG_7571.JPG

My first impression: (of the raw patty)

It looked like cooked beef. I actually double checked the labels to make sure I hadn’t made a mistake a bought real meat!

Cooking it was a breeze as I just spray some canola oil on both sides and tossed it on the grill for a few minutes.

7

I went to town on the toppings and also whipped up some cashew cheddar to give it that sensational “all american” look. In the second burger, I also fried some onions that had been breaded in panko crumbs and served it alongside roasted red potato wedges.

Processed with VSCO with f1 preset

 

Final verdict: I’m a convert. It was love at first bite.

It’s almost reminicent to bacon in taste (again, I rechecked the label because I couldn’t believe a vegan burger could have that much flavor and texture.), the chew is gratifying, and my mother, who is not a vegan, was absolutely delighted when she had a bite herself.

Would I buy it again?

Oh heck yes. And I can’t wait to try out Beyond Meat’s other products as they also look incredible.

Thoughts? Tried it yourself? Got a vegan product you’d like me to try out? Comment below and subscribe for more vegan goodness!

Leave a Reply

