Buddha Bowls + Video Tutorial!

Do you dislike salads as much as I do? Great, because I have the perfect solution for you.

When I tell someone I’m a vegan, I’m often hit with the line: “Oh wait, so you just eat grass and stuff right?” (…Really??) Honestly, one of the things I really don’t like is salads. They’re boring. They’re leafy. And monotonous at times.

Until I discovered the holy grail of goodness. The Buddha Bowl.

13
omg.

Underneath all that goodness is *gasp* a salad! And guess what? It pairs so well with all of the veggies and fixings that you won’t even remember you’re eating it. I tend to go with bold, exotic flavors but it’s up to you to give it your personal touch.

They don’t require much effort either. Plan yours out by hitting the key points: Protein (beans, peas), carbs (rice, potato, pumpkin), and vitamins/minerals (raw carrots, zucchini, purple onions, tomatoes, cilantro).

4

I took some small potatoes and cut them into wedges along with slicing some local pumpkin. Marinating them in about 2 tbsps of olive oil, fennel seeds, and salt and pepper, I bake them at 375F for about 15 minutes and then finish them off in the grill. You can however, leave them in the oven until golden brown.

Raw veggies add a refreshing crunch and nutrients, experiment with the way you cut them. Here I julienned the zucchini and thinly sliced some onion.

In the center, I went with white rice that I had cooked with kalonji seeds– but that can be substituted for any type of rice you like, or even quinoa.

5

Add spices to your cooked veggies and beans; I added made a curry with the chickpeas and used other spices such as fennel to bring out the earthiness from the potatoes and pumpkin. Don’t be afraid to try new flavors or borrow from other cuisines, you’d be surprised with what you taste.

Lastly, just assemble the bowl by placing the lettuce at the bottom and arranging all of the goodies you have. Or go crazy and mix it all together.

These bowls can be made with as little as 3 ingredients/side dishes, and they’re also a great way to rid yourself of small leftovers you have in your fridge.

13521849_10207762626557251_4256673353055845801_n

Here’s this week’s video courtesy of my lovely friend Kiara Gómez, who single handedly filmed and edited the process of me making this. I seriously love watching her make these projects come alive. For more creative content by her, check her channel here.

Leave a Reply

