Fluffy Vegan Pancakes + Video Tutorial!

In the past, I have experimented with and tried various vegan and vegetarian recipes but ultimately they fail at one of two criteria for pancake goodness:  (1) consistent fluffy texture or (2) the taste.

Fear not, fellow pancake aficionados. I have found such a heavenly and divine recipe that you’d think the pancake gods themselves created it for vegans.

Processed with VSCO with f1 preset

All you’ll need is:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, sifted. (sometimes I add a bit of cornmeal or oat flour for a heartier flavor.)
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp baking power
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cups water/rice milk– I usually add a little bit more, but very litte so the mixture doesn’t turn runny.
  • Non-stick cooking spray

Mix all of the dry ingredients in a bowl, then incorporate the water and whisk thoroughly. I

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Here I added cocoa covered almonds and raspberries

tend to add a little bit more flour and baking powder to reach a slightly thicker batter while I whisk.

Set your skillet to a medium temperature, and spray the pan. Ladle the mixture in 3-4 inch pancakes (I enjoy making multiple small pancakes for breakfast) and let cook until golden on both sides. Serve with syrup and/or nuts and fresh fruits.

I also toast nuts like almonds and pecans separately in a pan with some cooking spray or with the oven to sprinkle over the cakes along with granola or oats.

Processed with VSCO with f1 preset

Video tutorial edited and filmed by my insanely talented friend, Kiara Gómez. Thank-you so much for collaborating on this project with me! You can find the link to her Vimeo channel here.

(Video edit: 1 tsp of salt was used)

Leave a Reply

