Pumpkin Pecan Maple Granola

As I scoured the internet at 1:30 am for future breakfast ideas (as all normal, sane people do) I stumbled upon this gem, courtesy of The Minimalist Baker (link here) and instantly fell in love. Since I usually have 20 minutes or less make and eat breakfast during uni, I will definitely be making a batch or two to have on hand, as it is super tasty and filling to have as a breakfast or light snack.

There are just 9 ingredients in this recipe: IMG_4734.JPG

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 1/4 cups raw pecans
  • 1/3 cup raw pepitas (easily found in the Health Food store)
  • 3 Tbsp sugar (I used brown sugar instead)
  • ¼ tsp of sea salt
  • 3/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 cup coconut or olive oil
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree

I happened to not have pumpkin spice on hand (not sure if it’s available here in Puerto Rico during the summer months) so I went and made my own:IMG_4736.JPG

  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

Directions:

Mix all the dry ingredients together (I added about 3 Tbsp of cooked wild rice since I like the texture)

Combine the wet ingredients in a saucepan and heat for a few minutes, then pour over the oat and nut mixture. Incorporate thoroughly with a spoon or spatula and flatten on a cookie sheet or baking pan.

I cooked the mixture at 350°F for 25 minutes, stopping halfway to turn the mixture in the pan.

When you take it out of the oven, it will begin to harden as it cools for a few minutes.

It smells incredible too! I happened to eat mine with rice milk as a cereal, but it goes great by itself as well if you prefer it as a snack.

IMG_4737

Leave a Reply

